Our History

  • 1920s - 1950s

    The first electric light to light up the night in Swaziland was installed at Mlilwane with a 52.5 kVA hydro-turbine by James Weighton Reilly. Reilly later installed this plant on the Mbabane River, below where the Swazi Inn was later built, to supply Mbabane with light. He subsequently sold it to Mercer Cox, who then sold it to the Swaziland Government. Mickey Reilly also brought electricity to Bremersdorp (present-day Manzini), where he created a roaring trade selling single light points to the town, and in particular to the families Howe and Stewart, whose rivalry caused them to compete with each other. This escalated not only the price of electricity, but also the number of light points sold!
  • 8 June 1955

    The process began for the Government of Swaziland to buy the Bremersdorp Electricity Supply from the Swaziland Power Company for £50,000.
  • 1963

    The Swaziland Electricity Board was officially launched and work commenced on the construction of Edwaleni Hydro-Electric Power Station.
  • 19 September 1964

    The Edwaleni Hydro-Electric Power Station was inaugurated by Mr. H. F Oppenheimer in the presence of His Majesty King Sobhuza II.
  • 1975

    Hhelehhele 132/66kV Substation was constructed.
  • 1980

    Work commenced on the construction of the Luphohlo Power Station.
  • 1985

    Luphohlo Power Station was commissioned, bringing the total installed internal generation to 51MW.
  • 1987

    Eskom III Incomer was constructed from Normandie to Kalanga.
  • 1989

    Nhlangano II and Kalanga 132/66kV Substations were constructed. This was a great relief to the Eskom I and II 132kV Incomers which were now operating at full capacity.
  • 1989

    Mhlosheni and Hluti 33/11kV Substations were constructed.
  • 2000

    Motraco 400kV joint venture as well as the Edwaleni II 400/132kV 500MVA (2by 250MVA) Substation was commissioned. This project, combined with the commissioning of a number of other 132/66kV substations brought a marked improvement to the quality of supply. Hhelehhele and Stonehenge Substations were brown field projects whilst Mkhinkomo II was a green field development.
  • 2003 - 2010

    A number of green field as well as new 66/11kV substations were constructed resulting in improved capacity in these substations. These substations included Big Bend, Bhalekane, Sihhoye, Kent Rock, Pine Valley, Lobamba, and Manzini North Substations.
  • December 2007

    The Swaziland Electricity Board changed its name and became the Swaziland Electricity Company.
  • 13 May 2011

    The Maguga Hydro-Electric Power Station was inaugurated by His Majesty King Mswati III.